According To Hoyt

*Sorry this is so late.  There have been… interruptions.*

coverbombs

The Bombs Bursting in Air

Sarah A. Hoyt

The holo board on the side of the road read “Emergency. All Vehicles and persons, please turn on the next right and wait for inspection.”

I had just flown in to Sea York, dropped from long-distance altitude to local altitude, and was cruising maybe two feet above the glistening ceramite surface of Queens, the main road from the coast into the heart of the seacity.

The billboard’s words made my fingers start for the control panel of my flyer. And then I stopped.

What was the emergency, precisely, and what would the inspection entail?

Since at least the twentieth century this sort of impromptu search of the general public had been used for everything, from terrorist threats, to interdiction of illegal substances to stopping kidnappings.

This one might mean everything or nothing.

I…

View original post 6,135 more words

